Cumberland Energy Authority

The Cumberland Energy Authority was formed in 2012 through an Inter-Municipal Agreement between the Municipality of the County of Cumberland, the former Town of Parrsboro, and the former Town of Springhill to promote regional energy development.


Setting the standard of leadership in local government for the development of renewable energy, support of the progressive energy industry and the encouragement of a sustainable future for our communities.

The Cumberland Energy Authority objectives include:

  1. The development and implementation of the Energy Strategy for the County of Cumberland;
  2. The promotion, attraction, and development of renewable and alternative energy sources;
  3. The promotion and implementation of energy efficiency and conservation programs;
  4. The development of community sustainability through increased energy security, economic development, and environmental protection;
  5. The establishment of the municipalities as leaders in renewable energy use, and energy efficiency and conservation; and
  6. The planning, development, construction, and operation of special projects which include wind and solar unique to the Amherst area, tidal power in Parrsboro and geothermal mine water in Springhill.

Renewable Energy

Cumberland County has a variety of renewable energy opportunities, from wind power, tidal power, solar power, and geothermal energy. Each of these renewable energy resources has immense potential for both community and economic development for our region, and to be industry leaders in the harnessing of these various energies.

Major renewable energy opportunities in Cumberland County include:

  • Tidal
  • Geothermal
  • Wind
  • Solar
  • Bio-Energy

Service Provided:
  • Government
Markets served:
  • Renewable Energy
  • Other energy